Author Topic: Does suffering prove God's non-existence?  (Read 795 times)

Offline r000

Does suffering prove God's non-existence?
« on: March 30, 2006, 06:08:31 PM »
I figured I should post this topic because a student I'm studying with said to me something along the lines of "God doesn't exist ... how can He create people that kill each other?!"

Philsopher Bertrand Russel - "one that has been at the bedside of a dying child, cannot believe in a loving God".

Agnostics and atheists alike state that a personal loving God will not allow suffering. I think it's to the contrary actually. Suffering proves the existence of God and the following will show you why.

1) If you say that suffering exists, and you do not believe in God, then it is certain you perceive suffering to be something evil (evil = ultimate injustice of a practice). If as the student says "how can He create people that kill each other", he reasons that a loving God will not allow evil. Therefore, he knows that evil exists.

2) If evil exists, then good exists.

3) If you and I can know good and evil, the knowledge of which is an objective, absolute truth, then we must have a reference point through which you and I attain this knowledge.

4) We call this reference point moral law.

5) So, you and I can rationally say that this law is an intelligent mind law and that an intelligent mind created this law. Just like a legislator creates legislation, the moral law has a moral lawgiver. This moral lawgiver _must_ be God.

So, if there is no moral law, then there is no good; and if there is no good, then there is no evil; if there is no evil, then there is meaninglessness; and if there is meaninglessness, then life is meaningless; and ...